The Founders of the Most Noble Order of the Garter in 1348 were as follows:

  1. Edward, Prince of Wales
  2. Henry "of Lancaster," Earl of Derby, aft. Duke of Lancaster
  3. Thomas Beauchamp, 11th Earl of Warwick
  4. John de Grailly, Capital de Buch, Vicomte de Benauges et Castillon
  5. Ralph Stafford, Lord Stafford, aft. 1st Earl of Stafford
  6. William de Montacute, 2nd Earl of Salisbury
  7. Roger Mortimer, 2nd Earl of March
  8. John de Lisle, aft. Lord Isle de Rougemont
  9. Bartholomew Burghersh, aft. Lord Burghersh
  10. John Beauchamp, aft. Lord Beauchamp of Warwick
  11. John Mohun, 2nd Lord Mohun
  12. Hugh Courtenay
  13. Thomas Holland, aft. 1st Earl of Kent
  14. John Grey, 1st Lord Grey of Rotherfield
  15. Richard Fitzsimon
  16. Miles Stapleton
  17. Thomas Wale
  18. Hugh Wrottesley
  19. Nele Loring
  20. John Chandos
  21. James Audley
  22. Otho Holland
  23. Henry Eam (Enne)
  24. Sanchet d'Abrichecourt
  25. Walter Paveley
  26. William Fitzwaryn

Knighthood Main Page | Search Heraldica | Heraldic Glossary | Contact

François Velde

Last modified: Oct 15, 1997